Website - Invite.jpg

RSVP: 6th Shortcutz Amsterdam Annual Awards

20 January 2019 // EYE

. REGISTRATION: 7pm-7:30pm
. GALA: 8pm-11:30pm @ EYE 1
. AFTER-PARTY: performance + DJ: 11:30pm-1am @ EYE Cafe (free and open entrance)

dresscode: festive

EYE Filmmuseum
IJpromenade 1
1031 KT Amsterdam
+31 (0) 20 5891400

<<< The RSVP confirmations were already sent. If you didn’t receive it we kindly ask you to check out your spam or advertising folder. In case you cannot find it, please inform us by sending an email to or call us / SMS us at +31 6 315 801 62 >>>

Please register here:

Name *
Are you join us on January 20th? *

Every year Shortcutz Amsterdam hosts a different type of awards ceremony by inviting the most inspiring film personalities to do a speech to inspire the new generation to create more and better movies. It’s our way of trying to create an awards ceremony where everybody wins something, at the very least some inspiration. 
This year we can count with some inspiring words from: 

  • visual artist extraordinaire ERWIN OLAF,

  • producer JAN HARLAN (The Shining, Full Metal Jacket, Eyes Wide Shut),

  • director SACHA POLAK (Dirty God, Zurich, Hemel),

  • idfa’s director and producer ORWA NYRABIA,

  • actress RENÉE SOUTENDIJK (Suspiria, Spetters, Eve of Destruction),

  • writer and producer LARRY WILSON (Beetlejuice, The Addams Family, The Little Vampire),

  • producer PAUL MILLER (Prozac Nation, Lone Star, Men with Guns) .

  • Emmy winner RENÉ MIOCH will co-host this event.

[More epic names will join this lineup, we will keep you informed through our website and Facebook page.]
We also honour a role model who has been inspiring the new Dutch filmmakers and contributed to the prestige of Dutch cinema with the Shortcutz Career Award. This year we will proudly giving this award to director FRANS WEISZ.

Actor GÉZA WEISZ will do the introduction to Frans career award.

Do not forget to bring your dancing shoes. From 23:15 join us at EYE cafe for the performance of the HOUSE OF VINEYARD and some serious dance moves. Actor and DJ Maffia aka HUGO METSERS will take care of the DJ activity of the evening.

This ceremony will award the best of Dutch short film, granting prizes in 10 jury categories: Best Director, Best Documentary, Best Animation, Best Experimental, Best Screenplay, Best Cinematography, Best Post-Production, Best Actor, Best Actress and Best Film. The latter is awarded €15.000 worth of services by Filmmore and Camalot Amsterdam, €7.500 each. Cam-a-lot also awards the winner of Mr Zee Best Cinematography with equipment rental worth € 2.500 and Filmmore awards the winner of Mr Zee Editing with post-production facilities worth € 2.500.

The winners of these categories are chosen by our JURY. Shortcutz Amsterdam jury team is this year composed of:

  • actor RUTGER HAUER (Blade Runner);

  • producer JAN HARLAN (The Shining),

  • director HANY ABU ASSAD (The Mountain Between Us),

  • director ROEL REINÉ (Marvel's Inhumans);

  • actress WILLEKE VAN AMMELROOY (Antonia's Line);

  • actor TYGO GERNANDT (Van God Los);

  • director EDDY TERSTALL (Simon);

  • producer PIETER KUIJPERS (Van God Los);

  • MARINA BLOK, Head of Drama ntr;

  • actor VINCENT VAN OMMEN (Amsterdam Heavy),

  • Nederlands Film Festival programmer CLAIRE VAN DAAL;

  • EYE senior programmer and head of acquisitions RENÉ WOLF,

  • actress SIGRID TEN NAPEL (Penoza), and

  • street-artist LASER 3.14.

For the second time, Shortcutz Amsterdam went international for the Audience Award. This Award is the audience's favourite film of our screenings made in December and January throughout the world with regional partners:

  • AMSTERDAM (North Holland), organised by Shortcutz Amsterdam,

  • ARNHEM (Gelderland), organised by Gelders DOEK,

  • BERLIN (Germany), organised by Shortcutz Berlin + FeldKino Berlin,

  • DORNBIRN (Austria), organised by Dutch Film Days Vienna,

  • EINDHOVEN (North Brabant), organised by BROET,

  • FIGUEIRA DA FOZ (Portugal), organised by Shortcutz Figueira da Foz,

  • FUNCHAL (Portugal), organised by Shortcutz Funchal,

  • GUIMARÃES (Portugal ), organised by Shortcutz Guimarães,

  • JOHANNESBURG (South Africa), organised by The Bioscope Independent Cinema and Rapid Lion - The South Africa International Film Festival,

  • LISBOA (Portugal), organised by Shortcutz Lisboa,

  • LONDON (UK), organised by Dutch Centre,

  • LOS ANGELES (USA), organised by NewFilmmakers Los Angeles + Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences,

  • PORTO (Portugal), organised by Shortcutz Porto,

  • ROTTERDAM (South Holland), organised by Film Platform Rotterdam,

  • SANTA CATARINA (Brazil), organised by Shortcutz Santa Catarina,

  • TOKYO (Japan), organised by One Night Films + Embassy of the Kingdom of the Netherlands in Japan,

  • VENLO (Limburg), organised by Cinesud,

  • VIENNA (Austria), organised by Dutch Film Days Vienna and

  • VLISSINGEN (Zeeland), organised by Filmalot + Film by the Sea + CineCity.

The winner will also be announced at the ceremony.

The winning short films in the categories: best film, best animation, best documentary and best experimental, will be screened in their entirety.